Last Spring I watched the short series “I Can Make You Thin” with Paul McKenna on TLC.  McKenna, according to his bio, is the UK’s answer to Dr Phil.  I dislike Dr. Phil and think he’s a bully, so I was prepared to not like McKenna. 

Love him.  He’s short and balding, but he’s got a fabulous sexy voice and a very simple message.

It’s a lot of common sense + neurolinguisitic programming (NLP) + EFT tapping, but I’ll take it.  Like many people, I need the obvious to be highlighted, pointed out to me and repeated repeatedly in varied fashion before anything sinks in.  (That would be the ADD).  His rules:

  1. Eat when you are hungry.
  2. Eat what you want, not what you think you should want.
  3. Eat consciously and enjoy each bite. (this one here’s the kicker)
  4. When you think you’re full, stop eating.

I stumbled across the book at the library, grabbed it as we whizzed by heading for the Wiggles DVDs, and started reading when we were in the drive thru line at In-N-Out Burger.  Seriously. 

I’m three days in.  I have a lot of weight to lose.  Like a 5th grader amount of weight.  I’m already on a limited diet because of food allergies and sensitivities, so having to cut anything else out was getting really, really dull.  So far, I am amazed at how mindlessly I’ve been eating my entire life vs the mindfulness of the past 3 days.  I close my eyes when I eat to concentrate.  (If my eyes are open I go trolling for something to read–which defeats the whole mindfulness practice.  And can I just add, that mindfulness + inattentive ADD =  a be-yotch. )

It’s Bhudda advice.  Be mindful.  Sit.  Take the middle way.  Don’t let yourself get too hungry and don’t stuff yourself too full.  On a scale of 1-10, where 1 is passing out famished and 10 is rolling on the floor moaning in agony too full to pop a Tums, you want to stay in the 3-7 range. 

I’ve listened to the hypnosis/relaxation CD three times as well.  I don’t know it it’s really making a difference, but it isn’t hurting me. It gives me another reinforcement, and he’s got a great voice.   I’ve tried the tapping techniques as well and love them.  LOVE them.  I don’t care if it’s hokum, voodoo, or codswallop.  I completely buy into energy medicine and energy healing.  Wave of the future, people.  OK, wave of the ancient past, but it’s a wave and it’s a good one.

Three days of not stuffing myself.  Check.  Listen to my CD.  Check.  Paid attention to emotional eating vs. hunger eating.  Check.  Please, Paul McKenna, make me thin.

www.mckenna.com, www.emofree.com, www.nlp.com,

